Nikki in the City

Web-0569 I loved loved LOVED my shoot with Nicole! She wanted a more urban feel to her photos so we headed downtown, and I must have marveled a million times as I looked through my lens at how breathtakingly beautiful she was in contrast to the old brick or metal walls, or grungy stairs. Even the section of the Riverwalk we were in had a more industrial, urban feel to it. It was the kind of edgy scenery that makes a photographer’s heart flutter 🙂

… That… and the fact that I’ve had a couple of other occasions to take pictures of Nicole, so it felt so relaxed and comfortable. Like old friends playing for the day.

Web-0624Nicole is my hero. She has been an avid soccer player, helping her Reagan High School team go all the way to the state playoff games (finishing 3rd in State). And now she is off to continue her soccer career at Incarnate Word University. So… being a star athlete… beautiful… down-to-earth and as NICE as they come… Gosh! Bravo to everyone involved in Nicole becoming the person she is. Especially NICOLE!

THANK YOU GUYS for the privilege of having a part in this transition from high school to young adult. It was such a blessing to me — and it seriously meant the world to me!

Here’s a few more of my favorite pictures from the shoot.

Web-0635

Web-0630_BW

Web-0593

Web-0579

Web-0600

Web-0628

Web-0536

Web-0564Web-0614

About Sandy

I'm Sandy Powers, full-time photographer, doing what I love with my life! My passion is PEOPLE! There is such artistry in people, and I love capturing it. Naturally, portraiture is my passion, but I also love shooting for the art of photography for competitions or exhibit. I once watched an interview with Kim Walker, a well-known Christian worship leader. What she said resonated with me and pretty much describes my own story. In the interview, she said she didn't have to force things to happen for herself. She didn't have to push. She didn't have to overly promote herself or call people and beg them to hire her. In fact, she didn't have to do anything except keep her eyes on Jesus and watch Him bring her destiny to her. That's exactly how I feel. I walk each day by faith, and my eyes are on Him! I have watched in amazement as He has orchestrated circumstance to bring my destiny to me. I thank Him daily for allowing me to not only do what I love, but to use what I love to bless others! So, how is "the destiny" unfolding? Well. . . . My work has been juried into temporary museum and art gallery exhibits, I have been featured in Outdoor Photographer Magazine, my portraiture and fine art have won several awards in national and international competitions, and one of my portraits was selected by an Adobe Lightroom blog as one of the top 50 most stunning black and white photos. I'm a member of Professional Photographers of America and the Texas Photographic Society. Anything else??? Send me a note (Sandy@SandyP.net) any time! I LOVE meeting new people, sharing stories, and best of all, changing the "ordinary" to extraordinary through photography!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

