The Gift. To “Have” or “To Give”

Web-711Photography is a gift.   It always means so much to me when someone says, “You have a gift…”  I’m humbled.  And amazed at such a compliment.  But you know what?  “Having” a gift actually pales to being able to “give” a gift of photography.   And, I’ve had some life changing experiences over the past several months to prove it.

One was just this past week.  My brother.  In truth, he is my husband’s brother.  Larry.  But, I couldn’t love him more if he were my brother, and growing up, I always wanted a brother, so it feels nice saying “My brother”.  ANYWAY…. my brother, over the past many years has been pretty much of a hermit.  A wonderful, pure hearted guy!  He loves God… he’s kinder to every human than most anyone.  It’s just that he has been perfectly happy and content to live life, just him and his dog, Luke.  And oh!  The friendship he and Luke have.   Luke is a beloved part of Larry’s very own soul.

Web-773So… uh-oh… a frantic call.  “I think Luke is dying.”  He is 10.  Voice shaking.  Fear.  Heart pounding.  Luke couldn’t catch his breath.  He fell over.  And terror filled his eyes.  Not to mention Larry’s heart.  And ours.  But… lo and behold, after a scary night.  Luke woke up the next day just fine.  It got me thinking.  “Let’s take pictures, Larry!  You and Luke need photos together.”  He has none.  None.  No pictures of the love of his life and him.   So, on a beautiful October afternoon, I headed over to Larry’s with my camera.  What I always do when photographing dogs is wait until a dog is completely comfortable with me being there, usually following several kiss-fests, hugs and conversations with them in “dog-speak”.  Then, I pick up my camera and just make clicking away a part of the natural part of the day.  In the meantime, I got to catch up with Larry as we chatted the afternoon away like a couple of girlfriends (sorry Larry… it’s just that…  well… you are so easy to talk to 🙂 )

Web-809What we ended up with made both of us feel “the gift” of photography.  It was overflowing from happy hearts.  Larry said the pictures made him cry.  I’m printing large prints of them for him so that the gift of Luke will be immortal in his life.   Luke will be forever as honored a part of Larry’s home as he is in his heart.  Yes!… this gift was MUCH more of a joy to give than to have!  In fact, Luke, Larry and photography were the best gift to me in a long time!  🙂

Boots Little ManSo the other gift I mentioned that is better in giving than “having”:   My work photographing rescue dogs with Saving Grace Dog Rescues.  Glamour photos to help them get adopted.  We’re still trying to figure out the best way to use our photos of these amazing dogs as “adoption capital”, but we’ve had pretty good luck so far with putting their best-dressed selves forward to make them irresistible to prospective forever homes.  After our first shoot, I did a little video that expresses out heart towards these amazing animals in need of an angel by their side.  For whatever reason, they have sadly found themselves homeless and “people-less”, and they deserve someone to love them like Larry loves Luke!  Since this first shoot, I have fallen in love with many, many more of these beautiful animals.   And, by the way, if, by any chance you EVER find room in your heart for a new furry family member, please let me know (Sandy@SandyP.net), and we will hook you up!  Till then… bask in the gift with me  🙂

About Sandy

I'm Sandy Powers, full-time photographer, doing what I love with my life! My passion is PEOPLE! There is such artistry in people, and I love capturing it. Naturally, portraiture is my passion, but I also love shooting for the art of photography for competitions or exhibit. I once watched an interview with Kim Walker, a well-known Christian worship leader. What she said resonated with me and pretty much describes my own story. In the interview, she said she didn't have to force things to happen for herself. She didn't have to push. She didn't have to overly promote herself or call people and beg them to hire her. In fact, she didn't have to do anything except keep her eyes on Jesus and watch Him bring her destiny to her. That's exactly how I feel. I walk each day by faith, and my eyes are on Him! I have watched in amazement as He has orchestrated circumstance to bring my destiny to me. I thank Him daily for allowing me to not only do what I love, but to use what I love to bless others! So, how is "the destiny" unfolding? Well. . . . My work has been juried into temporary museum and art gallery exhibits, I have been featured in Outdoor Photographer Magazine, my portraiture and fine art have won several awards in national and international competitions, and one of my portraits was selected by an Adobe Lightroom blog as one of the top 50 most stunning black and white photos. I'm a member of Professional Photographers of America and the Texas Photographic Society. Anything else??? Send me a note (Sandy@SandyP.net) any time! I LOVE meeting new people, sharing stories, and best of all, changing the "ordinary" to extraordinary through photography!
This entry was posted in Animals, PEOPLE and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gift. To “Have” or “To Give”

  1. So good to see a new Blog post from my favorite photographer ever!! No matter if you are shooting people portraits, landscapes, or animal, your photography is always brilliant. Bravo Sandy for always being the best.

    • Sandy says:

      Awwwww! I’m all proud that anyone actually read this 🙂 It’s good for the soul to unsort your tangled thoughts sometimes with the written word. I’m going to try to do more of it again.. Thank you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

