The Language of Photography

It’s a language I know well. It speaks to me and often deeply changes my heart. It tells beautiful stories. It can be a language of love, creating new friendships and bonding old ones deeper. Sometimes, it’s a language of pain where the words stay with you long after you wish they would.

7814_framed-web

These photos will be framed. So, I “framed” them in honor of her.

My passion for this beautiful language of photography has a deep longing to be expressed. To make a difference in the lives of others. To be a vehicle through which God can encourage and comfort people. To show them their beauty and His love for them.

7812_framed-webIn this new year: 2017, my mission is to become more fluent in this language I love so much, and to truly make a difference in the lives of others through photography. Much of it will go unnoticed, maybe even unappreciated by “the masses” or art critics. And, I doubt if my income from photography will skyrocket this year. But, you know what? That is so okay with me! Because I will be achieving my heart’s desire, worth so much more to me than money or even huge accolades.

My non-vocational self is an encourager! Hearing a story, truly caring, and then being able to say words that offer hope and relief… it’s what gives meaning and purpose to my life. So my prayer is that my photography will also speak encouragement, hope and beauty.

She's not supposed to give hugs like this until she's much better.  But... sometimes, a big hug is well worth the risk to her!

She’s not supposed to give hugs like this until she’s much better. But… sometimes, a big hug is well worth the risk to her!

Last Tuesday, I had a chance to photograph a dear 19-year old friend with Down Syndrome, Shontelle. I love her so much it hurts sometimes. Just weeks ago, she was not expected to live. She had pneumonia so seriously that even the doctors were concerned that she wasn’t strong enough to beat it this time. But, through the power of prayer, and some angels who donated a very expensive medical device to her, she was saved. She’s getting better.

This was the day: the first in a very long time that she was well enough to go to her beloved Equessense Horse Therapy Program and ride “her” horse, Big Red. Still with an oxygen tank on her back, and her face covered in a mask to protect her from germs, emotional and spiritual healing flooded her soul (and ours) by getting to ride her horse again. And there I was to capture it… to make a difference to her and her mom by documenting her victory over pneumonia through photography. The story is more beautiful than the art. But, the art is more than “a picture”. It’s proof of victory. It’s a chance to look at it forever and remember the joy she felt that day. The hope of more to come. The promise that her healing will one day be complete. The statement she made spoke loud and clear: She is still running her race with a determination to finish it and win!

Thank you, my friend for the honor of getting to work and play with you. Your own verbal language is limited. But through our work together, there is NOTHING unsaid. NOTHING that is not understood. I look forward to more. We speak this language of photography so beautifully between us, don’t we!

About Sandy

I'm Sandy Powers, full-time photographer, doing what I love with my life! My passion is PEOPLE! There is such artistry in people, and I love capturing it. Naturally, portraiture is my passion, but I also love shooting for the art of photography for competitions or exhibit. I once watched an interview with Kim Walker, a well-known Christian worship leader. What she said resonated with me and pretty much describes my own story. In the interview, she said she didn't have to force things to happen for herself. She didn't have to push. She didn't have to overly promote herself or call people and beg them to hire her. In fact, she didn't have to do anything except keep her eyes on Jesus and watch Him bring her destiny to her. That's exactly how I feel. I walk each day by faith, and my eyes are on Him! I have watched in amazement as He has orchestrated circumstance to bring my destiny to me. I thank Him daily for allowing me to not only do what I love, but to use what I love to bless others! So, how is "the destiny" unfolding? Well. . . . My work has been juried into temporary museum and art gallery exhibits, I have been featured in Outdoor Photographer Magazine, my portraiture and fine art have won several awards in national and international competitions, and one of my portraits was selected by an Adobe Lightroom blog as one of the top 50 most stunning black and white photos. I'm a member of Professional Photographers of America and the Texas Photographic Society. Anything else??? Send me a note (Sandy@SandyP.net) any time! I LOVE meeting new people, sharing stories, and best of all, changing the "ordinary" to extraordinary through photography!
This entry was posted in Animals, Children, Lifestyle, PEOPLE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Language of Photography

  1. npshields@aol.com says:

    Sandy, I loved your words because I felt they were such a reflection of my own heart. Our photography isn’t about photography; it’s about love, life and Godliness. Truly honored to know you, thanking God for crossing our paths!!

    When you have the time catch me up on you and your amazing family!!

    Love, Nina

    >

    • Sandy says:

      Nina, THANK YOU! We really are kindred spirits about photography aren’t we! I am so thankful God orchestrated our friendship. It has been a huge encouragement to me over the years!

Leave a Reply

