2014 Brings Flashes of Hope

So, so SOOOOOOO happy today! It’s the first real day of the new year (work wise), and I got an invitation that makes me very happy! A few months ago, I read about a non-profit organization I immediately knew I wanted to get involved with. Flashes of Hope. They are a prestigious national organization that provides portraits to families with children who have cancer. This has been something very close to my heart ever since I walked with a co-worker through the death of her 3-year old granddaughter with cancer years ago. It was devastating. Once she was gone, there was no way to ever again get pictures of their baby, and I noticed most of the photos they had of her were faded snapshots — the kind that most people snap of their family that don’t always truly convey the child’s radiant personality, or even the relationships with the child that mean so much to them.

As my portrait work has progressed, I have longed to make photography for families like my co-worker a part of my life. My heart is capturing the soul of my subjects, and they of all people, need lasting memories of their child. So, in applying, I noticed that their application said that almost all their photographers are chosen from The American Society of Media Photographers. High end, commercial photographers who work with brands like Luvs Diapers, Fisher Price, or Gerbers Baby Food. Eeeee…. Here I am, just me, serving my local area with portrait art. I thought it was a long shot, but you never know unless you apply, right?

So HAPPY NEW YEAR, Sandy! I get a wonderful, personal email from the Developer of Photographers with this organization complimenting me on my work which she studied from my website… Aaaaaand… saying they’d love to include me in their organization.

They are still in the process of establishing Flashes of Hope in this area, so she warned me to be patient as they worked out all the kinks to get started, but I should be up and running with this amazing organization before too long, and I absolutely can’t wait.

Yep… about the best way Sandy Powers Photography could start out its new year! “Thanks, God!” 🙂

About Sandy

I'm Sandy Powers, full-time photographer, doing what I love with my life! My passion is PEOPLE! There is such artistry in people, and I love capturing it. Naturally, portraiture is my passion, but I also love shooting for the art of photography for competitions or exhibit. I once watched an interview with Kim Walker, a well-known Christian worship leader. What she said resonated with me and pretty much describes my own story. In the interview, she said she didn't have to force things to happen for herself. She didn't have to push. She didn't have to overly promote herself or call people and beg them to hire her. In fact, she didn't have to do anything except keep her eyes on Jesus and watch Him bring her destiny to her. That's exactly how I feel. I walk each day by faith, and my eyes are on Him! I have watched in amazement as He has orchestrated circumstance to bring my destiny to me. I thank Him daily for allowing me to not only do what I love, but to use what I love to bless others! So, how is "the destiny" unfolding? Well. . . . My work has been juried into temporary museum and art gallery exhibits, I have been featured in Outdoor Photographer Magazine, my portraiture and fine art have won several awards in national and international competitions, and one of my portraits was selected by an Adobe Lightroom blog as one of the top 50 most stunning black and white photos. I'm a member of Professional Photographers of America and the Texas Photographic Society. Anything else??? Send me a note (Sandy@SandyP.net) any time! I LOVE meeting new people, sharing stories, and best of all, changing the "ordinary" to extraordinary through photography!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2014 Brings Flashes of Hope

  1. Nina Shields says:

    Knowing you, and knowing this amazing organization, I can’t think of a better match!! They not only invite photographers who possess great skill and talent, but also ones with great hearts! You are living proof of the concept of “shooting from the heart” and, in your case, that is a great approach!! So grateful for this “match made in Heaven”!!

    • Anne G says:

      I SO WHOLE HEARTEDLY AGREE!! Sandy P you are an angel with a camera!

      or a camera w an angel attached.. you decide 🙂
      Love you!
      Anni

  2. Wow Sandy, what an awesome gift to share with these famlies, from such a gifted photographer. You are going to be a perfect fit with this organization, and I know the Lord will bless you beyond measure. Bravo my friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

