Seeing a Family — Not Just a Picture of One

Web_3437So of course, when you take one look at Apryl & Jacob & their babies, Berlin & Colton — you know you can get some beeeeeautiful photos, right? Wow! THEY are a beautiful family! But I told them right off: “I want to care less about perfect posing & perfect techinical data saying ‘cheeeeeeese’ at me — and more about what it’s like to be IN your family!” I wanted them to just have a special time together as a family, and lucky us, someone just happened to have a camera along.

Web_3321I LOVE the photos we ended up with. You couldn’t fake the closeness this family had for each other. It was so genuine. So relaxed and FUN! I was SO happy as they let me share moment after moment of them just loving each other and being themselves. It really was such a blessing to be part of them for the evening.
Web_3401
And, I’ll add: It was as much an honor as a blessing! Jacob serves our country in the Coast Guard. He and Apryl have had long separations in their 9 years of marriage. In fact, as I write this, his leave is ending, and he is headed back to Virginia while Apryl stays here and finishes up her nursing degree… *snif* No wonder I felt such joy from them just being together. They are such an inspiration!

Here’s the video I made to show them their photos.

About Sandy

I'm Sandy Powers, full-time photographer, doing what I love with my life! My passion is PEOPLE! There is such artistry in people, and I love capturing it. Naturally, portraiture is my passion, but I also love shooting for the art of photography for competitions or exhibit. I once watched an interview with Kim Walker, a well-known Christian worship leader. What she said resonated with me and pretty much describes my own story. In the interview, she said she didn't have to force things to happen for herself. She didn't have to push. She didn't have to overly promote herself or call people and beg them to hire her. In fact, she didn't have to do anything except keep her eyes on Jesus and watch Him bring her destiny to her. That's exactly how I feel. I walk each day by faith, and my eyes are on Him! I have watched in amazement as He has orchestrated circumstance to bring my destiny to me. I thank Him daily for allowing me to not only do what I love, but to use what I love to bless others! So, how is "the destiny" unfolding? Well. . . . My work has been juried into temporary museum and art gallery exhibits, I have been featured in Outdoor Photographer Magazine, my portraiture and fine art have won several awards in national and international competitions, and one of my portraits was selected by an Adobe Lightroom blog as one of the top 50 most stunning black and white photos. I'm a member of Professional Photographers of America and the Texas Photographic Society. Anything else??? Send me a note (Sandy@SandyP.net) any time! I LOVE meeting new people, sharing stories, and best of all, changing the "ordinary" to extraordinary through photography!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment